New Zealand

Description of New Zealand

New Zealand consists of two small islands in the southwest Pacific, lying 1500 km off the east coast of Australia, which in 1642 were discovered by the Dutch navigator Abel Tasman. New Zealand offers to tourists a wide variety of incredibly beautiful nature: mountains, canyons, fjords, geysers, waterfalls and active volcanoes. New Zealand occupies an area of 270 square kilometers and there is no place remote from the coast for more than 120 kilometers. The coastline of the North Island is immensely cut and forms many peninsulas, coves and bays with fine sandy beaches.

Here are the Southern Alps, covered with glaciers glaring in the sun. In clean and clear lakes, lying in wooded valleys below the level of snow melting, originate swift mountain rivers. To the east of the Alps stretch fertile plains of Canterbury.

English is the main language, and is spoken by 96% of the population. Most of the books, newspapers and magazines are published in this language; it also prevails in radio and television broadcasts. Maori is the second official language. In 2006, the status of the third official language was given to the finger language.

New Zealand is a parliamentary monarchy, and a member of the British Commonwealth. The Constitution of New Zealand includes a large number of laws and customs (the main effective constitutional act was approved by the Parliament in 1852). The formal head of the country is the English king (queen); its functions are performed by the Governor-General, appointed by the King of England with the Government of New Zealand for a 5 years’ term. The role of the Governor General in the political life is not so important, although formally it has significant powers: is the head of the executive branch, is a Member of the Parliament, appoints the prime minister, approves the bills, etc. There is also a consultative body under the Governor-General - the Executive Council, which includes all ministers. The chief body of the executive power is the government (cabinet), headed by the Prime Minister.

Some facts about New Zealand

Population of country 4,252,277 people
Area of New Zealand 268,680 sq. kilometers
Located on the continent Oceania (OC)
Capital of New Zealand Wellington
Currency at New Zealand Dollar (NZD)
Domain Zone .nz
Phone country code 64
FIPS code of New Zealand NZ

Gallery of New Zealand

New Zealand
New Zealand

#01 photo

New Zealand: 01 фото New Zealand
New Zealand
New Zealand

#02 photo

New Zealand: 02 фото New Zealand
New Zealand
New Zealand

#03 photo

New Zealand: 03 фото New Zealand
New Zealand
New Zealand

#04 photo

New Zealand: 04 фото New Zealand
New Zealand
New Zealand

#05 photo

New Zealand: 05 фото New Zealand
New Zealand
New Zealand

#06 photo

New Zealand: 06 фото New Zealand
New Zealand
New Zealand

#07 photo

New Zealand: 07 фото New Zealand
New Zealand
New Zealand

#08 photo

New Zealand: 08 фото New Zealand

New Zealand video guide

More information about New Zealand

Climate of New Zealand:
  • temperate with sharp regional contrasts
Terrain of New Zealand:
  • predominately mountainous with some large coastal plains
New Zealand also has such useful resources as: natural gas, iron ore, sand, coal, timber, hydropower, gold, limestone.

Top cities of New Zealand

City Name Population State Coordinates
1 Auckland 417,910 people Auckland -36.86667 x 174.76667
2 Wellington 381,900 people Wellington -41.28664 x 174.77557
3 Christchurch 363,926 people Canterbury -43.53333 x 172.63333
4 Manukau City 362,000 people Auckland -36.99282 x 174.87986
5 North Shore 207,865 people Auckland -36.8 x 174.75
6 Waitakere 204,500 people Auckland -36.91754 x 174.65773
7 Hamilton 152,641 people Waikato -37.78333 x 175.28333
8 Dunedin 114,347 people Otago -45.87416 x 170.50361
9 Tauranga 110,338 people Bay of Plenty -37.68611 x 176.16667
10 Lower Hutt 101,194 people Wellington -41.21667 x 174.91667
11 Palmerston North 75,996 people Manawatu-Wanganui -40.35 x 175.61667
12 Rotorua 65,901 people Bay of Plenty -38.13874 x 176.24516
13 Hastings 61,696 people Hawke's Bay -39.6381 x 176.84918
14 Nelson 59,200 people Nelson -41.28333 x 173.28333
15 Napier 56,787 people Hawke's Bay -39.48333 x 176.91667
16 Mangere 55,266 people Auckland -36.96807 x 174.79875
17 Porirua 50,914 people Wellington -41.13333 x 174.85
18 Whangarei 50,900 people Northland -35.73167 x 174.32391
19 New Plymouth 49,168 people Taranaki -39.06667 x 174.08333
20 Invercargill 47,287 people Southland -46.4 x 168.35
21 Wanganui 40,268 people Manawatu-Wanganui -39.93333 x 175.05
22 Upper Hutt 38,400 people Wellington -41.13827 x 175.0502
23 Gisborne 34,274 people Gisborne -38.65333 x 178.00417
24 Papakura 28,010 people Auckland -37.06572 x 174.94393
25 Timaru 28,007 people Canterbury -44.4 x 171.25
26 Blenheim 26,550 people Marlborough -41.51603 x 173.9528
27 Paraparaumu 25,263 people Wellington -40.91667 x 175.01667
28 Taupo 22,469 people Waikato -38.68333 x 176.08333
29 Pukekohe East 21,438 people Auckland -37.2 x 174.95
30 Masterton 20,698 people Wellington -40.95972 x 175.6575

© 2016-2022 GabisWORLD.com Contact Us